Skip to content

World Cup Finals 2010: the Group Stage – an infograph

30 June, 2010

An infograph about the Group Stage of the World Cup Finals 2010

Click on the image to enlarge it

We have developed and designed this graph, as it is the Group Stage where all the teams have participated in the same number of matches (three). As a result the statistical data are more representative than the total number of matches each of the teams play in the whole tournament*1.

So during the Group Stage of the World Cup Finals (2010) we experienced:
48 Matches
101 Goals (2.1 goals/match)
188 cards (175 yellow + 13 red cards*2) (3.9 cards/match)

From the 16 teams that qualified to the next stage:
6 belong to the European Football Confederation
5 to the South American
2 to the Asian
2 to the North American
and 1 to the African one.

And the ‘winner’ is…

  1. Best defence: Portugal (0 goals)
  2. Worst defence: North Korea (12 goals). This is double the number of goals received by any other team during the group stage of the tournament!
  3. Best attack: Portugal & Argentina (7 goals)
  4. Worst attack: Algeria & Honduras (0 goals)
  5. Best goal difference: Portugal (7 goals)
  6. Worst goal difference: North Korea (-11 goals)
  7. The ‘big winners’: Argentina & Netherlands (won all their 3 matches)
  8. The ‘big losers’: Cameroon & North Korea (lost all their 3 matches)
  9. Most ‘violent’ team: Chile (10 yellow cards, 1 red card)
  10. Most ‘gentle’ team: Spain (NO cards)
  11. Match with the maximum number of goals: Portugal – North Korea (7-0, 7 goals)
  12. Matches with the minimum number of goals: 6 (out of 48) matches finished 0-0
  13. Most ‘violent’ match: Chile – Switzerland (1 red and 9 yellow cards)
  14. Most ‘gentle’ match: North Korea – Côte d’Ivoire (NO cards)

*1 For example, it would be misleading to claim that the finalists (and that’s for argument’s shake) were the most ‘violent’ team based  on the total number of cards they will have received in ALL the matches that they will play during the World Cup Finals. Of course, an alternative could be to divide the total number of anything examined/compared (e.g. goals scored, cards received etc.) by the number of matches each time participates in. However, the conditions (and rules) of the knock-out matches are different from the conditions and rules of the matches during the group stage.

*2 How we counted the cards/’violence’ factor:
If a red card was given directly to a player we counted it as the equivalent of two yellow cards (in order to calculate the total of the ‘violence’). If a red card was shown to a player after he was given a yellow card we didn’t count ‘his’ yellow card neither on the number of yellow cards nor on the total (for ‘violence’).


Data were compiled using BBC’s website


If you found this post interesting, why not have a look at our post about The History of the Football World Cup Finals (1930-2006)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: